Dear Delegates,

We would like to express our sincere thanks for your valued participation to the European Aerosol Conference 2016.

This was a great honor for the French Association for Aerosol Research (ASFERA) to organize such a great conference. Hopefully we received all the support of the European Aerosol Assembly and of the previous organizer of EAC, especially to the Italian society which organized the EAC2015 in Milano.

770 attendees and 54 exhibitors attended the EAC2016 conference; 60 institutions and laboratories of 45 countries were represented; France, Germany, Switzerland, Finland, United Kingdom, United States, Sweden, South Korea, Austria, Italy, Taiwan, Japan, Spain, Netherlands, Czech Republic, Mainland China, Russia, Hungary, Greece, Belgium, Australia, Canada, Israel, Denmark, Estonia, Poland, India, Ireland, Norway, Romania, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Cyprus, New-Zealand, Portugal, South Africa, Croatia, Kuwait, Leetonia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Tunisia.

You certainly have noticed that for the first time the conference was organized with 5 main topics including the thematic of the 11 EAA working groups. According to the many positive feedbacks received, this new organization must be encouraged and it seems that the next conference in Zurich will keep this format.

We have received 954 abstracts. This conducted to nearly 300 oral communications and more than 600 poster presentations.
Of course we had 5 very interesting plenary sessions, and this year we had 8 special sessions organized by the working group chairs and the scientific committee.

For the exhibition, we have noticed a great interest to participate to this event and 33 institutions were represented.

EAC2016 could never come to fruition if not for the devoted efforts of the support of

  • the 5 plenary lecture speakers
  • the 100 chairs who have managed the sessions
  • the EAA working group chairs and the scientific comity which have selected the abstracts and build the program

The daily and thematic programs are available online for downloading. Please login

EAC2016 is 5 days of exchanges of great richness which have made this conference a key international scientific moment for the aerosol research. We congratulate you for the high-quality presentations and discussions, but also for the sympatic atmosphere of the aerosol community.

Moreover, several awards were delivered during the event:

Jean Bricard Award by ASFERA:

  • Anthony Rondeau PHD STUDENT (Institute for Radioprotection and Nuclear Safety and University Paris Saclay);
  • Shupeng ZHU (Center for Study and Research on Atmospheric Environment and University Paris Est, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech).

Smoluchowski Award by GAeF:
Dr. Alexandra Teleki (ETH Zurich) for her work on "Spray flame coating and functionalization of aerosol particles for advanced nanomaterials".

International Aerosol Fellow Award by IARA:

  • Professor Kaarle Hämeri (University of Helsinki);
  • Professor Junji Cao (Institute of Earth Environment, Chinese Academy of Sciences).

And 11 winners for the Best Poster Award.

The Organizing Committee has been most encouraged by the many positive feedbacks received. We also want to thank the Paris-Est Créteil University to have supported the French Aerosol Association for the organization from the very beginning of the project. We also want to thank the University of Tours for their great help, also to all the staff of the congress center and Tours' city for the welcome reception at the Mayor of Tours.

We hereby convey our sincere gratitude to all of you.

Thank you